For students

Information about NZSL Learning

Here you can find out about NZSL learning in your area. All individual contacts listed here are members of NZ Sign Language Teachers Association (NZSLTA). While you're waiting for a class to begin, get started with Learn NZSL at www.learnnzsl.nz.

Please note TeachSign and NZSLTA will not reply to any other enquiries about NZSL learning as this list has all the contacts.

RegionWho/organisationEmail
North
North Shore

Merge NZ
Auckland Deaf Society

info@mergenz.co.nz
programmes@auckland-deaf.org.nz
West Auckland

Lynne Smith
Susie Ovens
Merge NZ
Rutherford College
Auckland Deaf Society

cheekylynne@vodafone.co.nz
susieovens@gmail.com
info@mergenz.co.nz
commed@rutherford.school.nz
programmes@auckland-deaf.org.nz
Auckland Susie Ovens
AUT - elective papers
AUT - BA in NZSL & Deaf Studies
AUT - BA in NZSL Interpreting

Auckland Deaf Society
Merge NZ

susieovens@gmail.com
cynthia.dsouza@aut.ac.nz
cynthia.dsouza@aut.ac.nz
cynthia.dsouza@aut.ac.nz
programmes@auckland-deaf.org.nz
info@mergenz.co.nz

South Auckland Merge NZ
Auckland Deaf Society
info@mergenz.co.nz
programmes@auckland-deaf.org.nz
Waikato Kelly Quirke
Joanne Klaver
kellyquirke8@gmail.com
joanneklaver@hotmail.com
Rotorua Pixie Neame nzhandsalive@gmail.com
Bay of Plenty

Tania Purdon
Vikki Wright
Katikati Community Centre

info@visualtalkinghands.co.nz
vmwright@xtra.co.nz
Diane Donker, 021 08832113

Taupo Angela Lindsay angelamayl@gmail.com
Central
Taranaki Lisa Masters lisa.masters2013@gmail.com
Hawkes Bay Tina Brightwell maorigurlfromwaimarama@hotmail.com
Whanganui Shona Beamsley sbeamsley4@gmail.com
Manawatu Jackie Davidson
Annette Hansen
ajdavidson@xtra.co.nz
tigerheart66@gmail.com
Wairarapa Karen Cox kandpcox@hotmail.com
Porirua Ripeka Bird rjmorgan@hotmail.co.nz
Wellington Amber Shaw
Victoria University - day papers
Victoria University Continuing Ed
Tawa College
Wellington High School
amber@nzsl4u.courses
rachel.mckee@vuw.ac.nz
profdev@vuw.ac.nz
comed@tawacollege.school.nz
cec@whs.school.nz
South
Nelson/Tasman Rachel Summers relaxgal84@gmail.com
West Coast Ruth Sullivan ruth.sullivan@hotmail.co.nz
Christchurch Maria Griffiths
Victoria Green
Becky West
Risingholme Community Centre
mgriffiths980@gmail.com
victoriagreen070@gmail.com
nsebecky@gmail.com
info@risingholme.co.nz
Mid/South Canterbury Carol Smith carol@signforlife.co.nz
Otago Josje Lelijveld josjedeaf@xtra.co.nz
Southland Julie Bode nztreasure@gmail.com
Online (national)
MySign Merge NZ info@mergenz.co.nz